SOAN 2019 Election: MkGeorge Onyung emerges President

Ship Owners Association votes in Lagos to elect new executives
The Ship Owners Association of Nigeria (SOAN) on Tuesday in Lagos elected Dr. MkGeorge Onyung, the Managing Director of Jevkon Oil & Gas, as its new president.
Onyung polled a total of 12 votes ahead of Mr. Alfred Okoigun’s 10 votes to emerge winner of the position of the association’s president.

For the records, only 22 of the association’s 30 members voted at the polls, which was overseen by highly-respected Chairman of the Shipowners Forum, Mrs. Margret Orakwusi, the Managing Director of Morbod Group.

Mrs. Orakwusi was the Returning Officer for the election, and was supported on the task for credible elections by some staff of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), as members of the maritime media served as observers of the process.

Other elected members of the new executives are Mr. Eno Williams. He polled a total of 22 votes to emerge as first Vice President, while Mr Sonny Eja also polled 22 votes to be elected the second Vice President.

Mr. Babalola Adefarati is the association’s Financial Secretary/Treasurer with a total of 22 votes, just as Mr. Lucky Akhiwu emerged as the Chairman, Technical Committee with a total of 12 votes ahead of  Engr. Stan Athekame who polled 10 votes.

The position of the Chairman Training & Capacity Building Committee has Mr. Wisdom Nwagwu, who had 22 votes, while Mrs. Iroghama Obuoforibo cleared all 22 votes to become the Chairman, Finance& Membership Committee.

Dr. Louis Ekere won his election to become the Chairman, Ethics &Privileges Committee with a total of 22 votes. Engr Greg Ogbeifun, the erstwhile President becomes an Ex-officio.

In his acceptance speech, Onyung promised to run an all- inclusive consultative administration to the benefit of Shipowners in Nigeria.

He said that the new executives would strategically engage regulatory bodies such as NIMASA and the Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB) in order to ensure that ship owning business gets a boost in Nigeria.

He thanked the immediate past president for his selfless dedication and prayed for his continual support.

Immediate past president of the association, Engr. Greg Ogbeifun, congratulated the new executive members and charged them to give their best in service to the association.

Ogbeifun pledged his unflinching support, promising to always give his resources and time to ensure the tempo of service is sustained and further boosted.

He said: “I congratulate the new president and I acknowledge that he has worked well to emerge the winner for the position of the president.

“I assure you that I will always be available, giving my resources, my time to continue to sustain what SOAN is doing.

“It will continue to be for the benefit of every member of the association, for the maritime industry and for the nation's economy.”

Ogbeifun urged the new executive to engage the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) and work diligently to influence policies that enhance trade for the sector.

His words: “I want the new exco to engage NIMASA frontally.  We are open as shipowners and together we will push for the success of issues of industry concern.”

The Shipowners Association of Nigeria (SOAN) comprises of 30 ship owning companies who have proven track records of economy-boosting activities in the industry.