Customs retires 34 officers

The Nigeria Customs Service (NCS) on Friday announced the retirement of 34 of its officers.
A statement by the Public Relations Officer of the NCS, Mr Wale Adeniyi, said the retirement was part of the re-organisation in the service.

He said the retirement of the affected officers was with immediate effect.
``As part of the ongoing re-organisation in Nigeria Customs Service, 34 Senior Officers have been retired from Service with immediate effect.
``The re-organisation of the service is one of the core mandates of the Comptroller-General of Customs, retired Col. Hameed Ali,’’ the statement read.
He said those affected were five Deputy Comptrollers-General of Customs (DC-Gs) who had earlier given notification to the Comptroller-General for voluntary disengagement.
They are John Atte, Ibrahim Mera, Musa Tahir, Austin Nwosu and Akinade Adewuyi.
Adeniyi said the three Assistant Comptrollers-General involved are Madu Mohammed, Secretary to the Nigeria Customs Board, Victor Gbemudu, Zonal Coordinator Zone ‘A’ and Bello Liman, Assistant Comptroller-General (Headquarters).
Others are Comptrollers serving in Customs Headquarters, Zonal Offices and various Area Commands.
The statement quoted Ali as saying that the retirements were part of measures to kick-start the repositioning of the service for improved performance.