FEC approves NIMASA's Maritime University

DG NIMASA, DR Ziakede Akpobolokemi
The Federal Executive Council (FEC) has given approval to the Nigeria Maritime University (NMU) an initiative of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), to commence academic activities. 

This is contained in a statement by Mr Isichei Osamgbi, a Deputy Director/ Head of Public Relations of NIMASA, on Friday in Lagos.

According to the statement, the Minister of Information, Mrs Patricia Akwashiki, announced the approval at the FEC meeting in Abuja on Wednesday, May 13, 2015.

Described as the first full- fledged maritime university in West Africa, the university has its permanent site in Okerenkoko, Warri South-West Local Government Area of Delta State.

The statement said the university is expected to run courses in Marine Engineering, Naval Architecture, Nautical Science, Transport Technology and other maritime- related professional areas at degree and sub- degree level.

 The statement quoted Dr Ziakede Akpobolokemi, the Director General of NIMASA, as saying that “this formal approval of the licence will signify a major milestone in the Agency’s capacity building initiatives.

"It will guarantee sustainable training of qualified manpower for the maritime industry at international standard.”

 It said that with the approval granted, the university would now commence academic activities at its fully-developed temporary site in Kurutie, also in Warri-South West Local Government Area.

The groundbreaking ceremony of the institution, as well as the NIMASA Shipyard and Dockyard in Okerenkoko, was conducted by President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan in May, 2014, according to the statement.

It said that the NIMASA management, led by the director general, remained committed and focused in building human capacity for the Nigerian maritime sector through strengthening the Nigerian Seafarers Development Programme (NSDP).

It said that the NSDP scholarship programme designed to train young Nigerians in various maritime professions at degree level, has over 2,500 beneficiaries in academic institutions in Egypt, India, Philippines, Romania and the United Kingdom; a number of whom have since graduated. 

The statement read that the Akpobolokemi administration had also established institutes of maritime studies in six Nigerian universities.

The Universities include, University of Lagos, University of Nigeria Nsukka, Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai Niger State, Niger Delta University Amasoma, Bayelsa State, Anambra State University Uli and Federal University Kashere, Gombe State, it said.