MARAN inaugurates new executive Dec. 3

The newly-elected executive of the Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria (MARAN) will be inaugurated on Wednesday December 3, 2014 in Lagos.

 The new executive, led by Mrs. Ifeyinwa Obi as the President, was elected on November 7, 2014 elections held at the International Maritime Press Centre/MARAN Secretariat, Apapa.

The elections were held under the supervision of top officials of the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) and other port stakeholders.

The inauguration, slated for Rockview Hotels, will be attended by the Comptroller-General of Customs, Alhaji Abdullahi Inde Dikko, as the Special Guest of Honour, and the event will be chaired by Barrister Hassan Bello, Executive Secretary/CEO, Nigerian Shippers’ Council.

Others expected are the Director General of NIMASA, the Managing Director of Nigerian Ports Authority, the CEO of Sifax Group, terminal operators, Presidents of Association of Nigeria Licensed Customs Agents and National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders and many more.

In her post-election message, the President, Mrs. Ifeyinwa Obi, promised to work diligently to reposition the association towards discharging its obligations to the development of the nation’s maritime industry at large.

Obi, who is the first female president of the association since its inception in 1988, challenged port stakeholders to rally round the association.

In the meantime, the Chairman of the Inauguration Organizing Committee, Mr. Bayo Akomolafe said the inauguration would serve as a platform for the association to present its new executive to the maritime public with a view to strengthening the cordiality between MARAN and the industry.

Other elected members are: Funso Olojo (Hallmark), Vice President; John Obot (Radio Nigeria), Secretary General; Obiajulu Agu (Maritime First) and Aisha Cole (NAN), Financial Secretary. Others are: Oluwakemi Dauda (The Nation), Treasurer and Gboyega Oni (PortNews), PRO/Internal Auditor.
The event will feature paper presentation on anti-smuggling and Pre-Arrival Assessment Report (PAAR).