West African Students Union honours Sifax boss, Afolabi

The Clerk of the West African Students Union Parliament (WASUP), Hameed Coulibally,presenting the Kwane Nkrumah exemplanary leadership honour to the representative of the Group Executive Vice Chairman (GEVC) of Sifax group, Dr Phil Ofulue while the Special Assistant to the GEVC, Ezeikeil Ajewole, and the Director General of Djiboti Consulate, Folake Rojas admire.

The West African Students Union Parliament has honoured the group Executive Vice Chairman of Sifax Group, Barr. Taiwo Afolabi, with the prestigious Kwame Nkrumah exemplary leadership award. 

The award was on Monday bestowed on Afolabi by the leaders of the students parliament headed by the leader of the group, Daniel Nwachukwu.
Afolabi was honoured for his contributions toward youth development and human capital development in the sub region.
Daniel in his speech said the group of students does not honour politicians with their awards because they think more about the next election and not the next generation.

His words, "Our awards have been for great leaders who we believed think about the next generation and the group Executive Vice Chairman of this great organization fall into that.

"We are honoring people who have contributed significantly and indelibly to the facet of job creation around the West Africa sub region."
The student parliament comprised of students from Nigeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Burkina- Faso, Côte d'Ivoire and Togo.

The students stated that the award conferred on the Sifax boss was not to say he had provided jobs for all Nigerians but that he had contributed immensely to job creation in the country and the West African sub region.

"We are not saying he has employed all Nigerians but we believed he has done much, he has contributed a lot to job creation and he should be honored with Kwame Nkrumah.

They reeled out the name of worthy Nigerians who had been honoured with the prestigious award, Daniel said the contribution of Afolabi to the development of the youths warrant him joining the league of respected Nigerians who had been given the award.

"This award has been bestowed on prominent Nigerians such as Hon. Justice Muhammed Uwais; Cardinal John Onayekan; Sultan of Sokoto; Alhaji Saad Abubakar  and former governor of Kano state, Col. Asani Bello.

Responding to the Students Union group, Afolabi expresses appreciation for deeming it fit to honour him with a prestigious award.
Afolabi who was represented by the Executive Director, Human resources and Administration of the group, Dr Phil Ofulue, apologised for the absence of the group Executive Vice Chairman.
Afolabi said, "We appreciate this prestigious award and I say this is an award that we cherish, for youths of like minds to put barriers aside to embrace and preach peace is worthy of celebration.

Afolabi who was also extolled for identifying with the youths said he believed in anything that would add value to human lives.
"We are happy that despite the get rich quick syndrome of the youths you are still thinking the way our founding father thinks and despite the fact that youths do not know much of African history, you still remind us about those glorious days and times of our founding fathers."
"Also, for your level and age bracket to think this way it is a very nice step, so it is interesting you see the need to break this barriers and with this, the partitioning of Africa has been defeated," Afolabi said.

The West African Students Union Parliament was a brain child of Nnamdi Azikwe, Obafemi Awolowo, Alhaji Tafawa Balewa, Kwame Nkrumah, Herbert Macaulay and other African leaders to fight for independence during colonialism in Nigeria.